How To Be Your Personal Best!!

I came across a great article in the New Yorker magazine on the value of coaching and how coaching can contribute to people getting better at what they are already good at doing.

Master surgeon Atul Gawande starts his article, Personal Best by saying:
“No matter how well trained people are, few can sustain their best performance on their own.

That’s where coaching comes in. (emphasis added).
He goes on to say:

“I’ve been a surgeon for eight years. For the past couple of them, my performance in the operating room has reached a plateau. I’d like to think it’s a good thing—I’ve arrived at my professional peak. But mainly it seems as if I’ve just stopped getting better.”

The article caught my eye because, of course, I’m a coach and one of my toughest challenges is helping people invest in themselves and a better, more satisfying life through a few coaching sessions.
Later in the article Gawande tells a story about how a tennis coach helped him improve his serve, then he goes on to realize that:

“Nearly every élite tennis player in the world…. uses a coach to make sure they are as good as they can be.
“But doctors don’t. I’d paid to have a kid just out of college look at my serve. So why did I find it inconceivable to pay someone to come into my operating room and coach me on my surgical technique?”

It’s a good question and in fact Gawande does hire a coach who provides guidance that allows him to continue improving the quality of his already very high quality surgical practice.

The point is that we all can do better with the help of a coach. The article speaks about teachers, musicians, opera singers, golfers, sports teams and executives using coaches to improve their performance and ultimately their satisfaction with their lives.

I offer coaching in career and relationship issues. What I find is that most issues that people come to see me about cross over into both their career and their relationships. So, I have specialized in helping people identify what they want to achieve in terms of both their career and the relationships they develop in their lives.

I start by helping people get in touch with what goals they really want to achieve.  Surprisingly, perhaps, this can take some effort on their part. Once their goals are established, I support them in creating their action plans to achieve their goals. That leads to my providing support as they implement their plans. Often the clients revise their plans with my support as they move forward. Ultimately, they succeed in creating more vibrant and satisfying careers and relationships and that leads to much happier lives.

(The reason people call me the Happiness Coach is because they are happier after working with me on making their lives better.)

Steps in the Coaching Process:
Coach supports client with:

Goals –> Plans  –>Implementation lead to–> A More Successful & Satisfying Life!

So, I invite you to invest in yourself by using a coach. To make it easier for you I’ll offer the first session at no charge.
Please give me a call so we can set up an appointment!

Bruce Rosove (613) 233 8013   Bruce.Rosove@Rogers.com

Career and Relationships Coach
(The Happiness Coach! )

P.S. If you’d like to read the full article by Atul Gawande, please drop me a line and I’ll send it to you.

Leave a Reply

